Uncategorized

A Rising Tide Lifts All Boats



“A rising tide lifts all boats,” this quote from John F. Kennedy is one of the most influential in my life. I heard a variation of this from the one and only Rachel Hollis, and it kicked off an incredible year of change and more, importantly, growth!

Ms. Hollis was specifically discussing the benefits of focusing on one area of growth, one specific goal to work on, and how the positivity of that will then spill over into all areas of your life. That rising tide will indeed lift all your boats. 

When I first heard her podcast, I had decided to fully focus on my health. That year I ran two half marathons, did Crossfit consistently, and have truly been able to change how I feel about myself, my relationship with food, my self-confidence, and my belief in myself. The rest of my harbor experienced positive changes as well. I’m calmer, more well-adjusted, kinder, more accepting. I mean, I’m not perfect, let’s not be silly. But y’all, it’s a noticeable difference.

Teachers, this summer, what can you focus on this summer so that the rest of your boats lift with your rising tide? I know it’s tempting to re-alphabetize your classroom library, clean out your junk drawer, get in a year’s worth of doctor appointments, and a thousand other little things, but take a step back. What is ONE THING you can focus on? I don’t mean to neglect every blessed thing other than your chosen focus, just think of one thing that you have been wanting to change. You have some breathing room now that it’s late June, and some thinking space to consider how you can help change the area you’ve been thinking about. Maybe it’s finances, or health, or organization, or something else very important to you.

I read an interesting article about teachers reigniting their passions with side projects and creative outlets; like teaching college courses, side business with another one of your passions, tutoring, and many more. It was very interesting, the author interviewed a filmmaker who made a documentary on this specific topic. One featured teacher noted the benefits in her own classroom after starting her Teachers Pay Teachers business, she had been interested in design and already knew the curriculum, so she put those two strengths together. (https://www.forbes.com/sites/robynshulman/2019/04/20/this-educator-made-a-documentary-about-teachers-turning-toward-entrepreneurship/#29b9b2a69e77 )

The most important thing is not what you choose to do this summer, it is what you choose to focus upon with your recovery time. Following a passion and igniting change in an area of your life will help the rest of your life. So, this week, choose what you will focus on, choose how to build a tide that lifts all the boats in the harbor.

I would love to know what you choose, what’s your FOCUS!

Xo,

Ellie



Leave a comment